Congratulations to all the 2017 IFTA Film & Drama Award Winners


Congratulations to all the 2017 IFTA Film & Drama Award Winners

Posted: 10th April 2017

Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board (IFB) congratulates the winners of the 2017 IFTAs, which took place on Saturday, 8 April in the Round Room at the Mansion House in Dublin. Darren Thornton’s A Date for Mad Mary was this year’s big winner, claiming the prize for Best Film, while other IFB-supported titles to win on the night included The Young Offenders (Script), Second to None (Animation), Tomato Red (Sound), I Am Not A Serial Killer (Editing) and The Secret Scripture (Production Design and Original Score).

Presented by six-time IFTA nominee and 2015 Best Actress winner, Deirdre O’Kane, the 2017 IFTAs saw Ruth Negga named as Best Actress (Film) and Colm Meaney awarded Best Actor (Film) for their respective roles in Jeff Nichols’ Loving and Nick Hamm’s The Journey. It was a double win for A Date for Mad Mary as Charleigh Bailey was presented with the Best Supporting Actress IFTA for her role as Charlene opposite Seána Kersake in Thornton’s much-acclaimed film. Richie Smyth was awarded Best Director (Film) for The Siege of Jadotville while the George Morrison Feature Documentary prize went to Mattress Men.

The IFTA Rising Star sponsored by the IFB was awarded to Patrick Gibson, who was nominated alongside Seána Kerslake, Peter Foott and Barry Keoghan. Gibson has become a leading figure for aspiring Irish male talent in film and drama, having risen to international acclaim as the troubled Steve Winchell with cult Netflix series The OA. Michael Gambon was honoured with the Lifetime Achievement Award—the Academy’s highest accolade—for his extensive and prolific acting career, spanning over fifty years.

Highlights from this year's IFTAs will be broadcast on 10.15pm this Tuesday, 11 April on RTÉ One. See below for a full list of winners:

IFTA Awards 2017 winners

Best Film: A Date For Mad Mary

Best Drama: Vikings

Best Leading Actor in Film: Colm Meaney in The Journey

Best Supporting Actor in Film: Jason O’Mara in The Siege Of Jadotville

Best Leading Actress in Film: Ruth Negga in Loving

Best Supporting Actress in Film: Charleigh Bailey in A Date For Mad Mary

Best Leading Actor in Drama: Cillian Murphy in Peaky Blinders

Best Supporting Actor in Drama: Ned Dennehy in An Klondike

Best Leading Actress in Drama: Amy Huberman in Striking Out

Best Supporting Actress in Drama: Charlie Murphy in Happy Valley

Best Director in Film: Richie Smyth for The Siege Of Jadotville

Best Director in Drama: Dathai Keane for An Klondike

Best Script in Film: Peter Foott for The Young Offenders

Best Script in Drama: James Phelan for Wrecking The Rising

Best Short Film: Heartbreak by Dave Tynan and starring Emmet Kirwan

George Morrison Award for Best Feature Documentary: Mattress Men

Rising Star: Patrick Gibson

Best Director Of Photography: Seamus McGarvey for Nocturnal Animals

Best Animation: Vincent Gallagher for Second To None

Best VFX: Tim Chauncey for The Siege Of Jadotville

Best Sound: Niall Brady, Ken Galvin and Steve Fanagan for Tomato Red

Best Production Design: Derek Wallace for The Secret Scripture

Best Costume Design: Consolata Boyle for Florence Foster Jenkins

Best Editing: Nick Emerson for I Am Not A Serial Killer

Best Original Score: Brian Byrne for The Secret Scripture

Best Make-Up & Hair: Tom McInerney and Dee Corcoran for Vikings