Congratulations to all the 2018 IFTA Film & Drama Award Winners


Congratulations to all the 2018 IFTA Film & Drama Award Winners

Posted: 16th February 2018

Bord Scannán na hÉireann/the Irish Film Board (IFB) congratulates the winners of the 2018 IFTAs. Presented by Deirdre O’Kane, the event took place on Thursday February 15th at the Round Room of the Mansion House, Dublin. A host of IFB-supported titles took home some of the ceremony's biggest accolades including Frank Berry's Michael Inside, which was awarded Best Film ahead of its release in Irish cinemas in April.

Louise Bagnall's Late Afternoon was presented with the Best Animated Short award, while Emer Reynolds won the George Morrison Feature Documentary Award for her NASA Space Voyager doc, The Farthest. Barry Keoghan was presented with Best Supporting Actor for his critically acclaimed turn as the sinister Martin in Yorgos Lanthimos' The Killing of a Sacred Deer. The IFTA for Best Director went to Aisling Walsh for Maudie, while Ethan Hawke won Best International Actor for his role in the film which tells the real-life story of the Nova-Scotian folk artist, Maud Lewis while Tailored Films and Bowsie Workshop scooped the Best VFX award for Brian O'Malley's gothic horror, The Lodgers.

The IFTA Rising Star sponsored by the IFB was awarded to Jacob McCarthy following his performance as Christopher in Nick Kelly's debut feature The Drummer and the Keeper. President Michael D. Higgins presented the Lifetime Achievement Award —the Academy’s highest accolade—to actor and director Gabriel Byrne.

Other major Irish stars to win on the night include Saoirse Ronan, who took Best Actress in Film for Lady Bird, while John Connors was awarded with Best Actor in Film for Cardboard Gangsters. The IFTA for Best Scriptwriter in Film went to Martin McDonagh for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri.

Presenting the award for 'Best Feature Film' Minister for Culture, Heritage and the Gaeltacht Josepha Madigan, T.D. said "There can be no doubt that the Irish Film and Drama sector is going from strength to strength. We have shown that we can stand shoulder to shoulder with the best in the world and be judged only on the high quality of our output.”

The IFTA Film & Drama Awards will be broadcast on RTÉ One television this Saturday at 10.45pm.

See below for a full list of winners:

IFTA Awards 2018 winners

Best Film: Michael Inside

Best International Film: Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Drama: Game of Thrones

Best Actress in Film: Saoirse Ronan in Lady Bird

Best Actor in Film: John Connors in Cardboard Gangsters

Best Director in Film: Aisling Walsh for Maudie

Best Actress in Drama: Caitriona Balfe in Outlander

Best Actor in Drama: Cillian Murphy in Peaky Blinders

Best Supporting Actor in Film: Barry Keoghan in The Killing of a Sacred Deer

Best Supporting Actress in Film: Victoria Smurfit in The Lears

Best Supporting Actor in Drama: Liam Cunningham in Game of Thrones

Best Supporting Actress in Drama: Charlie Murphy in Peaky Blinders

Best International Actress: Frances McDormand in Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best International Actor: Ethan Hawke in Maudie

Rising Star Award: Jacob McCarthy, The Drummer & the Keeper

Casting Director Award: Ros Hubbard

Best Scriptwriter in Film: Martin McDonagh for Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri

Best Director in Drama: Dearbhla Walsh for Fargo

George Morrison Feature Documentary Award: The Farthest

Best Costume Design: Consolata Boyle for Victoria & Abdul

Best Make-Up & Hair: Clare Lambe & Sevlene Roddy for Into the Badlands

Best Editing: Úna Ní DhonghaIle for Three Girls

Best Live Action Short Film: Wave

Best Animated Short Film: Late Afternoon

Best Writer in Drama: Conor McPherson for Paula

Best Cinematography: Seamus McGarvey for The Greatest Showman

Best Production Design: John Hand for Maudie

Best Original Music: Stephen McKeon for Pilgrimage

Best Sound: Steve Fanagan & Kieran Horgan for The Farthest

Best VFX: Tailored Films & Bowsie Workshop for The Lodgers