Congratulations to the Irish Animation Awards Nominees


Congratulations to the Irish Animation Awards Nominees

Posted: 13th March 2017

Bord Scannán na hÉireann congratulates the nominees for the 2017 Irish Animation Awards, which were announced today. Presented by Animation Ireland during the Animation Dingle festival on 25 March, the awards acknowledge and celebrate the outstanding creative talent we have within the Irish Animation, VFX and gaming industries.

See below for a full list of nominees:

1. Best Animated Preschool Series (up to 6 years)

‘Lily’s Driftwood Bay’ – Sixteen South Production Team

‘Little Roy’ – JAM Media Production team

‘Puffin Rock’ – Maurice Joyce: Director

2. Kids Choice Award for Best Animated Series

‘Danger Mouse’ – Peter Lewis

‘Roy’ – JAM Media Production team

‘Wander over Yonder’ – Peter Lewis: Producer, Gillian Comerford: Director, Pete Slattery: Animation Director

3. Best Animated Short Film

‘City of Roses’ – Andrew Kavanagh: Director

‘Geist’ – Alex Sherwood: Director, Ben Harper: Director, Sean Mullen: Director

‘Second to None’ – Vincent Gallagher

4. Best Writer for Preschool Animation (up to 6 years)

‘Doc McStuffins: Welcome to McStuffinsville’ – Chris Nee, Kent Redeker

‘Octonauts: The Great Swamp Search’ – Stephanie Simpson

‘Puffin Rock: The First Snow’ – Davey Moore, Sara Daddy

5. Best Writer for an Animated Series

‘Brain Freeze: (DNA): Is Every Human Being Unique?’ – Colm Tobin & Aidan O’Donovan

‘Roy: Karma Chameleon’ –  Dave Rice

‘Roy: ROY 2.0’ – Mark Hodkinson

6. Best VFX as part of Animated TV Series or Film

‘Brain Freeze’ – Ian Benjamin Kenny

‘Go Jetters’ – Rob Fletcher, Mario Bortas, Rodrigo Rocha

‘Wander Over Yonder’ – Peter Lewis: Producer, Gillian Comerford: Director, Deirdre Behan: FX Lead

7. Best Animation for Apps and Gaming

‘Her Majesty’s SPIFFING’ – Production Team, William Barr & Alan Martin

‘The Little Acre’ – Pewter Games Production Team

‘Little Roy’s Wonder Doodler’ – Niall Mooney: Director, Will Wivell: Animator

8. Best Design / Art Direction

‘Bernard Dunne’s Mythical Heroes’ – Ian Benjamin Kenny

‘Octonauts’ – Stephen O’Connor‘

‘Puffin Rock’ – Lily Bernard, Stefano Scapolan

9. Best Director of an Animated TV Series

‘Danger Mouse’ – Rob Cullen

‘Lily’s Driftwood Bay’ – Tim Harper, Colin Williams

‘Little Roy’ – Alan Shannon

10. Best Animation

‘Puffin Rock’ – Animation Team

‘The Day Henry Met a Camera’ – Gilly: Director, Susan Broe: Producer, Andrew Dawson: Animation Director

‘Two by Two – Oops! The Ark Has Gone’ – Moetion Films Animation Team

11. Best Music/Sound Design

‘Brain Freeze’ – Stephen Kelly & Steve Lynch

‘Danger Mouse’ – Dominic Lawrence: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Sol O’Carroll: Sound Editor, Andy Kirwan: Sound Editor

‘Go Jetters’ – Carl Cullen: Supervising Sound Editor & Dubbing Mixer, Edward Costello: Sound Editor

12. Best Irish Feature Film or Special

‘Song of the Sea’ – Tomm Moore

‘Two by Two – Oops! The Ark Has Gone’ –  Moetion Films Team

‘Wander over Yonder: My Fair Hatey’ – Producer: Peter Lewis, Director: Gillian Comerford, Animation Director: Pete Slattery/Stephen McGann

For more information on the Irish Animation Awards, click here